01932 857381

Open today 
10:00am - 5:00pm

We are open every day, apart from a few days over Christmas


De Dion Motor Tricycle Races

  • Date November 29, 2017
  • Time 10:00a.m. - 4:00p.m.
  • Suitable for Everyone

On this day in 1897, the very first British motor races took place when the Motor Car Club, as a first anniversary celebration of their Emancipation Run from London to Brighton, organised a series of races for the De Dion Bouton motor tricycles on the quarter mile oval cycle track at Sheen House, Richmond Park.

The 120th Anniversary commemorations of the first of al British motor races will see at least a dozen Trikes on track in a series of races, from one mile sprints, to the finale which will be the Club's Five Mile Championship race on the Finishing Straight. Furthermore, they will be presented exactly as those first motor races, on a quarter mile oval circuit.

The format of the day will be as in 1897 - practice and fettling in the morning, lunch in the Clubhouse, (with a short talk of how racing started in Britain), followed by the race programme. Come rain or shine, the pioneers will be celebrated in style.


10:00 Museum opens
10:30 Riders’ Signing on and Briefing
11:00-12:00 Practice
12:30 Talk & Lunch in the Napier Room (£15 for shepherds pie & vegetables or vegetarian option + fruit crumble + custard)
14:00 Races, including the De Dion Bouton 5mile Championship
15:30 Awards Ceremony

Ticket Information

Normal Museum Admission Charges Apply:

Adults £13.50

Seniors & Students £11.50

Family (2 adults and up to 3 children) £35

Children (5-16) £7

BTM & LBPT members FREE

Contact Details

Further information from www.dedionboutonclub.co.uk

Brooklands Museum 01932 857381 ext 253 [email protected]

Admission Policy

Assistance dogs only are admitted on site. Children 16 and under must be accompanied by an adult. For full visitor guidelines please click here

Getting Here

Visitor parking will be in our usual car park at Mercedes-Benz World

Steering Wheel, getting here.jpg

Plan Your Visit

Getting Here