Collection Item

Campbell Shed

The World Land Speed Record holder Malcolm Campbell built his first shed here in 1926 and extended it in 1931.

 The building, surviving today, was used by him as office, workshop and showroom until around 1935. It was here that his successful ‘Blue Bird’ racing and world record-breaking cars were often kept, displayed or even built. The building was later taken over by leading motor engineers Thomson and Taylor as a workshop and showroom for Alfa Romeo and Railton cars.

Explore the Fastest on Earth: Racing Legends of Brooklands exhibition

Collection Data

Date Built

Motoring Village

Historic Buildings