Opening in 1937, the Campbell Circuit proved popular with the increasing number of drivers who wanted to experience the thrills of this sport.
Until 1933, Brooklands was unchallenged as the only motor racing circuit in mainland Britain, but in that year the track at Donington Park in Derbyshire was opened for car racing. Further competition came with the opening of a road-racing circuit at the Crystal Palace in South East London. Facing up to this, the BARC decided to construct a new road circuit at Brooklands, providing the maximum road racing track possible, without intruding on the Outer and Mountain Circuits, the aerodrome or the famous sewage farm! The new circuit, designed by and named after Sir Malcolm Campbell, zig-zagged its way across the centre of the motorcourse cleverly incorporating the old banked track.